Primetime

Dark

Baran bo Odar

Dark 01

The strange disappearance of a child is only the beginning of the mystery in Netflix's chilling supernatural family drama, from critically acclaimed directors Baran bo Odar and Jantje Friese.

"The distinction between the past, present and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion." –Albert Einstein.

The opening words of the pilot of Dark loom large over this creepy science fiction thriller.

Jonas lives in the small, quiet, industrial town of Winden. The nuclear plant's impending closure marks the death an industry that once defined the local economy. For teenagers, the most scandalous thing to occur during the cold fall semester was the headmaster's son smoking pot on school grounds. But then, 13 days ago, the Oberdorfs' son, Erik, disappeared. When Jonas and a group of his classmates go in search of drugs that Erik may have hidden in a cave, they find themselves in the centre of the town's secret history of affairs, lies, and mysterious disappearances. Together, they must discover why the electricity sometimes blinks, why sounds come from the woods, and why Jonas is plagued by nightmares of his father hanging himself — after leaving an elusive note inscribed with "Do not open before November 4th, 10:13 PM."

Penned and directed by TIFF alums Baran bo Odar and Jantje Friese, Dark is a chilling mystery, full of twists. Slick camerawork and realistic performances enhance a textured web of curious characters, all of whom have a connection to the town's troubled history, whether they know it or not. Fans of Stranger Things and Les Revenants and newcomers looking for an intricate puzzle to surrender to are sure to revel in the eerie milieu of a suburbia where uneasy truths lurk under the surface.

MICHAEL LERMAN

location_on Bell Lightbox 3

theaters Regular

location_on Scotiabank 8

theaters Press